Carry On


Day Breaks is the sixth solo studio album by American singer-songwriter Norah Jones, released on October 7, 2016, through Blue Note Records.  The album features nine original songs and three covers. Jones returned to a piano-driven sound as heard on releases early in her career.  It peaked at number two on the US Billboard 200, becoming her sixth album to reach the top ten.  Day Breaks received positive reviews from music critics, with many praising the album's production and Jones' vocals with many comparing it favorably to her debut album Come Away with Me.  

Eight songs on the album are composed or co-written by Jones; composing on piano, she intended the album as a return to the sound of her 2002 debut, Come Away with Me.  The album was co-produced by Jones and Eli Wolf and features drummer Brian Blade, organist Lonnie Smith and saxophonist Wayne Shorter.  Jones explains the songs were composed by drawing on jazz music influences and were recorded live without any overdubbing.

There are three cover songs on Day Breaks: "Peace", by Horace Silver (first recorded by Jones in 2001), "Fleurette Africaine (African Flower)", by Duke Ellington and "Don't Be Denied", originally by Neil Young, whose lyrics were recast in the third person by Jones. The album also includes "Sleeping Wild" written by Sarah Oda, who co-wrote three other tracks on the album and co-produced.

The album was released on October 7, 2016 and the first single was the title song, "Day Breaks". Subsequent singles included the songs "Flipside" and "Tragedy".