Going to California

10/19/2017

If you haven't binge watched all seven seasons of Californication, horizontally on your couch, snacks all within arm's reach so you have minimal distractions, you're an idiot.

The show is a perfect hot mess of sex, drug and rock and roll.

The series left me feeling like I lost a lover when the final credits rolled, but more than that, I lost the music.

The songs that they chose to use as the background to Hank and Karen's story, Hank and Faith's story, Hank's story, had the perfect amount of soul.

This song was my favorite.  It is filled with melancholy, but there's hope in it.  There is loss and the grief that comes from not being with the one you love.  But there is also a sense of coming home; coming home to the only place you can go.  The place where your heart is.

Calling California is there anybody home
Hello California won't you please pick up the phone
I wanna say I love you but I'm a million miles away
And I am thinking of you I miss you and LA
For you and you alone I'll lay my monsters down
And we'll watch the sun come up over California
For you and you alone I'll find my way back home
And I'll love you like the sun loves California
You're my California
I have made you suffer left you waiting in the rain
While I was chasing demons in the deserts of my pain
You know me better than the poison in my veins
So my love remember when God forgets my name
For you and you alone I'll lay my monsters down
And I'll watch the sun come up over California
For you and you alone I'll find my way back home
And I'll love you like the sun loves California
My California
I wanna feel the ocean breeze
Let the waves wash over me
I'll leave my winters in the sand
Hey California... California
For you and you alone I'll lay my monsters down
And we'll watch the sun come up over California
For you and you alone I'll find my way back home
And I'll love you like the sun loves California
California... You're my California
My California... You're my California

Website tuned by Red House Records, LLC
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started