The Grohl Package

11/22/2017

Someone recently asked me what my fascination with Dave Grohl is all about.

Um, first and foremost, have you heard that fucking voice?

Not since Barry Gibb, has anyone sounded so good while screaming their lyrics. And the way he enunciates "you" in Best of You?

If you haven't paid particular attention to that one word, stop what you're doing, que it up and listen!

I mean right now.

I'll wait.

Ok, where was I?

Oh yeah, what is it that beguiles me so about Dave Grohl?

Let me count the ways...

You know how you meet someone for the first time, yet if feels as though you've known them your entire life? Well, that's the kind of relationship Dave and I have.

The only relationship issue that we have is, I'm the only one who knows that we do indeed, have a relationship.

Having said that, it would be difficult to say with 100% certainty, that Dave is exactly how he appears to be, but I'm going to say it anyway.

Have you ever seen him being interviewed, seen anything he's written, watched any Foo Fighters videos? I mean, c'mon! That's real! Energy doesn't lie, and believe me, I'd like to feel that energy.

Did I just say that out loud?

Good.

This is going to sound cliché, but he really is the whole package; funny, smart, confident, modest, straightforward, great hair...I've seen them live, you know. It was at Wembley Arena.

Ok fine, it was a live performance televised on Palladium, but it was live, damn it.

He talked to the crowd, he drank with the crowd, laughed with the crowd,
effortlessly, as though he was hanging out with his friends.

There are many attributes that adequately describe him, but the following three truly express the essence of Dave Grohl:

1) The man broke his leg while performing. Most professional athletes would need to be carted off the court for a hangnail, but did he stop the performance? Hell no!

2) Did the Foo Fighters fly to New York during the middle of their South American tour, just to play Everlong on David Letterman's first show back post heart surgery because it's Letterman's favorite song? Hell yes!

3) Did Dave learn Italian in order to address one thousand fans from Cesena, Italy who performed Learn to Fly in hopes of getting the Foo Fighters to come and play in their small Italian town? You bet your ass he did!

If you haven't seen this amazing feat, look up Rockin 1000, you won't be disappointed!

People say that looks aren't important.

I say that's debatable.

I will also say that while Dave doesn't exhibit what society would classify as "traditional good looks", I would go so far as to say that he exudes sexiness.

I once said jokingly that if I died, I'd like to be reincarnated as the strings on Dave Grohl's guitar.

I really wasn't joking.

However, out of respect for Mrs. Grohl, I'll keep my feelings about her husband a secret.

So shhh, put on some Foo and forget everything I just said.

Guest Blogger:  Jennifer Gigi Friedman Schaeffer
Website tuned by Red House Records, LLC
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started